Weekend Outings: Ton Ten Ko Japanese Grill for My Cousin Visiting LA!

On Friday, one of my cousins from Toronto came and visited my family and relatives on her way to Hong Kong! It was such a pleasant surprise and there was so much we wanted to do with her in her short 3 day stay. From KTV’ing all day, to playing ping pong all night, from cupcakes to macarons, I just wanted to share what we managed to do in these short 3 days! I’ll be splitting up my posts for the 3 days, so here’s Day 1!

Day 1:
One of the first things we did on Friday was to quench our asian-selves with boba from Tea Station! And then we headed over to one of my auntie’s house to sing some KTV while we waited for dinner time at Ton Ten Ko!

KTV

Lots of singing, laughing, and laughing at others singing happened 🙂

Chapchae

Dinner time at Ton Ten Ko! Started off with some chapchae, glassnoodles, pickled radishes, and spicy pickled cucumbers.

Sashimi Plate

My family’s really big on seafood and so this was a must-eat! My favorite was still the salmon, mmm.

Uni Sushi

Wasn’t able to snap a picture fast enough while the half-ring of uni sushi was still a ring. (These went by quick!) To much of our disappointment though, their uni here had a sea-watery taste, making it slightly bitter. It was fresh, but it didn’t have that savory sweet taste that you’d expect to get for paying $8+ for two pieces.

Uni Bowl

This was the “Jaw Dropper” of the night. For only $12, you get an uni bowl, lined with uni, stuffed with rice, masago, bell peppers, and green onions. My auntie loved it, and the uni from this had a much more sweet and yummy taste.

Tempura Ice Cream

And you can never end family dinner gatherings without dessert! This time we had Tempura Green Tea Ice Cream! It was fried to perfection and was a great ~900 additional calories on top of my dinner splurge..

We finished the rest of the night with more KTV and family photos! Day 2 and 3 will be posted on later! For now I’m going to treat myself to some relaxing time as I get ready for another week of work, work, and work. Thanks for reading my long blurb of my weekend and I hope you all have a great week 🙂 & make sure to go to my contact page if there’s a place you’d like me to try!

Leave a Reply

